As the festival draws ever closer, another wave of bands has been announced for Slam Dunk Festival. Playing only their 3rd show since being joined by new frontman Wade MacNeil, Gallows will be appearing in what is sure to be a fantastic performance. Other bands announce include Capdown, Random Hand, Sharks, Hildamay, Straight Lines, Misser, Acoda, Our Time Down Here and an acoustic set from Attack Attack / Dopamine frontman Neil Starr. 

If that isn’t enough to excite you, the lovely people at Slam Dunk have made a ‘Dunkumentary’ recap of last year’s festival to get you going. You can check it out here. Who are you most excited to see at the festival this year?



Canterbury, one of the most beloved UK bands are set to release their second album ‘Heavy In The Day’ through Sweet Lime Records on July 9th. The album is available for presale now here and will be celebrating its release with an intimate launch show at Camden Barfly on July 19th. Tickets will be available at this link on 25th April and are bound to go quick, so don’t miss out!


Welsh rockers Funeral For A Friend have been announced for Slam Dunk Festival, with Matt saying “This years’s Slam Dunk is gonna be full on. We’re beyond excited for this, we’ve been itching to play since our last shows at the end of 2011 so be prepared for some in your face FFAF action!” 

Charlie Simpson has been announced as headliner for the Acoustic Stage, along with Into It Over It, Shane Henderson of former pop-punk act Valencia, and Rob Lynch. This will of course be supplemented with additional surprise acoustic performances from bands on the other stages.

Headliner for the Dance Stage will be a DJ set from the mighty Hadouken, with more acts to be announced over the coming weeks.

If you haven’t snapped up your tickets yet we advise you do it soon! More information on ticket options and prices, as well as the full line up for  North/South, Scotland and Wales as well as Slam Dunk on Tour can be found here .


The second round of Live and Unsigned is now under way, with regional showcases taking place all over the country. Live and Unsigned is the biggest original music competition in the UK for unsigned bands and artists. Attracting over 50,000 entries in the past five years, it has set itself apart from its predecessors by offering and promoting originality. It’s now established as the definitive music competition for original acts and it’s open to all genres of music from heavy rock to rap. To find a showcase near you, check out the Live and Unsigned site here. Here at CtrlAltRock, we’re supporting James Christie, who’ll be appearing at the Bedford showcase. Who are you behind?


D.R.U.G.S have posted up a new track to stream called We’re All Fucking Crazy. The track is available to stream via soundcloud, and Craig had this to say about the track:

“This is a song that was originally written about some personal issues I was going through last summer while on tour with D.R.U.G.S. It can be self-interpreted, as most lyrics should be, but ultimately is about the moments in our lives where you feel like both nothing and everything matters at the same time. Losing someone, you included. Ultimately it points out the direction D.R.U.G.S. is taking musically. I hope you all listen to it, on a real level. I hope that it brings out some anger, some pain, and most importantly that you come join us and your peers in screaming along to get all of that out when we come through your city soon.”

You can catch D.R.U.G.S in the UK on tour with Black Veil Brides from 24th March through to 1st April.


Nottingham’s six stage indoor festival, Hit The Deck, have announced their final collection of bands for the big event on 22nd April. The new additions are as follows:

Zebrahead | Lower Than Atlantis | Arcane Roots Autumn in Disguise | Baby Godzilla | The Black and Reds | The Black Youth |  Crazy Arm | Crossfaith | Dead Harts | Decade |  The Defiled | Don Broco | Hildamay | Mallory Knox |  Polar | The Social Club | The Summer Set | With One Last Breath

A Hit The Deck Sound Cloud  has also been set up for fans to listen to, with tracks from a number of acts playing this years festival, if you still need persuaded.
Tickets are still available from Alt Tickets and cost £20.


In a move that absolutely nobody could have forseen, You Me At Six have recorded a song as the soundtrack to the new Thorpe Park ride, both of which are called The SwarmThe track, produced by Gil Norton, will be available to download from iTunes on March 18th, with the rollercoaster being opened to the public on March 15th.

In addition to this the bands latest single No One Does it Better will be released on 8th April, and you can take a listen and watch the video over on their vevo. While this track won’t be featured alongside a rollercoaster, it will most likely be played during their March UK tour


Glassjaw and Hundred Reasons are set to play their seminal albums ‘Worship and Tribute‘ and ‘Ideas Above Our Station‘ in full at this year’s Sonisphere . OMG. Also added to the bill are Skindred, Black Stone Cherry, New Model Army, Electric Wizard, Alestorm, Crowbar, Kvelertak, Seether and The Getaway Plan.  Tickets for the festival, which takes place 6th-8th July, are available here.